RSS

“TO Be or Not To Be…That is the Question”

20 Mar

So, how many of you know about Shakespeare? I bet a lot of you have heard the name and also know about him from Romeo and Juliet and ever since, seems like everyone’s looking for either their “Romeo” or “Juliet”.

What I find fascinating though is how not many people seem to like Shakespeare. Is it the language? Is it his personality? It’s hard to tell, but either way, it still strikes me as odd that inspite the fact not many people like Shakespeare there is a lot of Shakespearian aura going on around!

Let’s take Twelfth Night, for example, I wonder if many people know about the play but I also know that the few who do, don’t like it. And yet you will find many other modern movies are based on that. Like “She’s the Man”, it is totally based on the Twelfth Night. The very same names, the very same context and theme and the plot is the same. A girl pretending to be a boy and a guy who likes another girl and tries to have her and all. Ok, yes the language is easier to understand but what is so hard about Shakespeare’s? 

The language he uses is romantic, beautiful, musical and so enticing that one just can’t get enough. “If music be the food of love, play on, Give me excess of it, that, surfeiting,  The appetite may sicken, and so die.” (Twelfth Night). I mean reading this line doesn’t it just make you want to hear more?

But hey, why don’t you tell me what you think of Shakespeare and his plays. My favourites are Twelfth Night, Hamlet, A Midnight Summer’s Dream and I’m pretty sure I’d like the others if I read them all. Yes I haven’t had the chance to read them all, but I’m hoping in due time I will! 🙂

And if you have any suggestions or something you want to know, just ask me, I love Shakespeare and I want to share that passion and the knowledge I got with you!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 20, 2011 in Drama

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to ““TO Be or Not To Be…That is the Question”

Leave a Reply

 
